Combining Three Regional Grids into One US-Wide Grid

Combining Three Regional Grids into One US-Wide Grid
Posted: 1 Apr 2011
Shirley Siluk
Primary Committee:
IEEE Smart Grid Newsletters
Pages: 3

Right now, the US grid is actually three separate regional grids: the Eastern Interconnection, the Western Interconnection and the Texas Interconnection´┐Żor ERCOT (for the Electric Reliability Council of Texas). A convergence of new technologies and developments in the US energy infrastructure is making it possible, for the first time, to seek to link the nation's three major electricity grids into a single, more resilient grid that can support more renewable power.

Sponsoring Society Members: Free
IEEE Members: $5.00
Non-members: $10.00
Please sign in at the top of the page. If you are not an IEEE member, please create a free account to make a purchase or become a society member to have access to all materials for free.