Combining Three Regional Grids into One US-Wide Grid

11 Apr 2017
Shirley Siluk
Primary Committee:
IEEE Smart Grid Newsletters
Page/Slide Count:
Pages: 3
Right now, the US grid is actually three separate regional grids: the Eastern Interconnection, the Western Interconnection and the Texas Interconnection or ERCOT (for the Electric Reliability Council of Texas). A convergence of new technologies and developments in the US energy infrastructure is making it possible, for the first time, to seek to link the nation's three major electricity grids into a single, more resilient grid that can support more renewable power.
Sponsoring Society Members:
IEEE Members:

Recent Items